Writer’s block

I’m stuck.  Only five days into NaBloPoMo and I am already anxious about what to write next.

Too many subjects floating around in my brain.  Travel.  Christian community.  Teaching.  Running. Parenting.  Family.  Music.  How do I decide which ones to pursue?  This month is largely about finding my voice and my passion, so maybe it’s okay if I try all of these topics at one point or another.

Another problem: I’ve been reading other blogs that interest me and that triggers the evil comparison game.  These people all write more creatively, more poignantly, about more exciting issues than I do.  Surely someone else has already said what I’m going to say, and they’ve probably said it better.  I wonder, why bother?

I feel paralyzed by my feelings of inadequacy, my lack of vision, my fear of failure.

Is there anything I can bring to this online community of readers, writers, and thinkers?  Is it worth it, even if what I have to say is ordinary?  Even if it’s all been said before?  As King Solomon noted, “everything is meaningless–like chasing the wind.” (Ecclesiastes 2:17).

This blog-a-day endeavor will have its high and low points, and I’m going to persevere.   Although “writing books is endless, and much study wears you out” (Eccl. 12:12), I think there is value in this goal.  There’s value in setting out to do something and following through.  Considering my most recent post was on unfinished business, I have an obligation to myself to complete this task.

So if you’re reading this, I hope you’ll be patient with my fumbling attempts at transparency and truth.  I hope you’ll extend me a little grace as I figure it out.

2 thoughts on “Writer’s block”

  1. I feel the same way about this whole blog scene. But in the last days I have just used things that pop into my head as I go through my day. I think of these as God’s writing prompts for me.
    You are a great writer and know you are inspiring others so keep up the great posts!

  2. “They” say that the best writers have to start with what you know best so you are doing a great beginning job. I agree that the topics might be hard to think of at times but let your mind go. It is great to read what you write…honest!

Leave a Reply

