Time in a bottle

I love the way music can take an ordinary moment and make it magical.  A song can conjure up instant images from the movie in which it’s featured (I can’t hear “Thriller” without thinking of Jennifer Garner playing a thirteen-year-old in a thirty-year-old’s body). It can bring to mind people who have meant a lot to me in my life.  It can take me back in an instant to a particular moment from my past, good or bad (one of the best being Rascal Flatts’ “Bless the Broken Road” as the song for our first dance at our wedding)..

So many songs touch me deeply when they teach me about the value of living in the moment and embracing life as it comes.

Jim Croce’s “Time in a Bottle” always gets me.  Just that deep longing to hold onto a moment in time forever, yet knowing the impossibility of that wish.  Yes, Jim, I desperately sense that yearning too.  I’ve experienced joy so rich and wonderful, I haven’t wanted those moments to end.  Times with my husband and now my precious baby boy are ones I dearly wish I could somehow freeze and enjoy forever.

LeeAnn Womack’s “I Hope You Dance” has had a power over me since it was released.  The lyrics express so powerfully the importance of seizing opportunities when they come, as well as appreciating simple joys like the majesty of an ocean wave.

How about Madonna: “This Used to be My Playground”?  That song from A League of their Own makes me so sad for the exciting times of youth, vanishing so quickly.  That nostalgic tug on your heart, the memories that come flooding back when you visit a place, one that holds such meaning in your past as well as who you’ve become.

Along the same lines, I cannot forget the Five for Fighting piece, “A Hundred Years to Live”.  The singer’s falsetto and the piano refrain haunt me.  How fleeting is this life, and each of its phases.  It usually doesn’t seem to at the present time, but whenever you look back on life, it seems as if those stages just flew by before you could catch your breath.

How wisely King Solomon of the Old Testament taught on the subject of time’s passage!  He recognized how brief man’s days on earth were, and that we must cherish the present.  It may be a bit morose to say, “eat, drink, and be merry, for tomorrow we die,” but it is all too true.

Not one of us is promised tomorrow.  What else can we do but take hold of the moments as they’re given to us?  “Who wants to look back on their years and wonder where those years have gone?”  Let the beauty of music remind us to live our lives to the fullest.

Leave a Reply

