New Year

What kinds of changes do I hope to see in myself in 2014? I know it’s said that probably 30-50% of all New Year’s resolutions are abandoned by February, but I still believe in the power of new beginnings.  Fresh starts.  Clean slates.

Being a teacher, my main “new beginning” of each year occurs in August, not January.  That’s when I revisit curriculum, revise lesson plans, reorganize my classroom.

I love the magical aura surrounding New Year’s, though.  Ruminating on Christ’s birth and subsequent perfect life, death, and resurrection reminds me of how blessed I am.  Being surrounded by family and other loved ones reminds me of what’s most important in life.   The extra vacation time leads to contemplation.

New Year’s motivates me to take risks, try new challenges, purge myself of the bad, and make improvements in many areas.

Spiritual:

As always, I want to read the Bible more.

Pray more.

Find a closer relationship with Christ.

I realize that’s very vague, and that’s the kiss of death with resolutions, but that’s how it is.

Physical:

I want to keep working out at my current levels (my own mix of running, elliptical, weight training, and P90X workouts, 5 or 6 days a week).

I haven’t done any races since maybe 2009, so a nice 5K or 10K would be great.  I miss the sense of camaraderie gained from running even one day with others.  I miss the energy of race day.

Keep having smoothies most days, but add more kale and less of sugary fruits.

Writing:

Write at least 500 words each day.  Any genre, any style, any subject.

Submit devotional meditations to Devozine (two per deadline).

Publish one blog post per week.

Interpersonal: 

Make time for friends in a non-work, non-church atmosphere at least once every month.

Attitude:

I nearly forgot this one, but it’s extremely important: be more positive.  I want to be someone who, rather than complaining about everything wrong with the world, does whatever she can to make it better.

I know these are probably too numerous to have a shot at total success, but why not have a lot of goals?  As the year progresses, I will figure out which ones are most feasible and which are most important to me.  At any rate, I’ll be making the effort.

How about you?  What’s your take on he concept of New Year’s resolutions?     If you’re making any for yourself, what are they and how do you plan to make these changes?

Cheers to 2014!

2 thoughts on “New Year”

Leave a Reply

